Slow Cooker Chili & Skillet Cornbread

Hello Friend!  Do you have a slow cooker?  Are you a fan of your slow cooker?  If you aren’t yet a fan of your slow cooker, here’s one recipe that may persuade you to pull out that old beast.

This recipe, like all of my recipes, is a variation on a recipe I found either online or in a cookbook or passed on from a friend.  The original recipe is quite good as is, but I think you will like my variation just as much, if not more.  There are a few things I like about this recipe.

  1. It’s easy!  Mostly you’re just dumping a bunch of cans of beans into your slow cooker.
  2. It makes a lot!  I always get two nights worth of dinners for my family of four plus two or three lunch servings.
  3. It’s low on Weight Watchers PointsPlus program.  Only 4 points for a one cup serving! (It’s herbs, spices and power foods!)

Follow this link to my recipe.

Laura’s Slow Cooker Chili

 

Skillet Cornbread

Now when your main dish has a PointsPlus value of only 4, why not have some cornbread with it?  Follow this link to a quick, easy and tasty cornbread recipe I found on allrecipes.com.  I like to call my cornbread Skillet Cornbread (thanks Fiona!) because my variation on the recipe is to bake it in my cast iron skillet.  Each of the 12 servings this recipe yields have a PointsPlus value of 5.

2 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Chili & Skillet Cornbread

  1. Deirdre McKiernan says:

    Can’t wait to try your chili recipe. I love using my crock pot, but have found a lot of recipes are mediocre. Please share more!

    Like

Leave a Reply

